ULTRA2 - International Workshop on
Ultra-Low Latency and Ultra-High Reliability in Wireless Communications
Friday, December 12th 2014, Austin, Texas


Workshop Information
Future wireless communications will not only be used for content distribution, where typically throughput per area is the most relevant KPI, but more and more for applications where the system capacity may not be the critical point, but rather stringent latency and/or reliability requirements. This requires a complete paradigm change in the design of future wireless communications systems. The ULTRA2 workshop looks into ultra-low latency and ultra-high reliability in communications from various angles, for instance

  • Fundamental trade-offs between latency, reliability and throughput, and reliability modeling
  • Obtaining reliability and availability through diversity
  • Novel coding approaches from the perspective of latency
  • Latency- and/or reliability improved solutions in the context of mmWave communications, V2V, wireless sensor networks and massive machine-type communications

Beside 8 technical paper presentations (selected out of 24 paper submissions), we are proud to announce the following keynote speakers for the workshop:

David Wolter
Assistant Vice President,
Radio Technology and Strategy
Prof. Mahadev Satyanarayanan
Carnegie Group Professor
Carnegie Mellon University
Dr. John Kenney
Principal Researcher
Toyota InfoTechnology Center
Dr. Frank Hofmann
Group Leader Digital Comm. Systems
Robert Bosch GmbH
Dr. Ulrich Rehfuess
Head of Spectrum Policy
Nokia Networks

The workshop will also be complemented by a panel discussion. Please find a detailed agenda of the workshop here.

We would be happy to welcome you in person to the workshop on Dec 12th in Austin, Texas.

On behalf of the workshop chairs
Patrick Marsch, Andreas Festag, Hans Schotten, Preben Mogensen and Peter Fertl

General Chairs:
Dr. Patrick Marsch, Nokia Networks, Poland
Dr. Andreas Festag, Technische Universität Dresden, Germany
Prof. Hans Schotten, Universität Kaiserslautern

TPC Chairs:
Prof. Preben Mogensen, Aalborg University, Denmark
Dr. Peter Fertl, BMW Group Research and Technology, Germany

Technical Program Committee:
Mate Boban, NEC Laboratories Europe
Ömer Bulakci, Huawei European Research Center
Alexandros Kaloxylos, University of Athens
Esteban Egea Lopez, Univ. Politecnica de Cartagena
Luciano Leonel Mendes, INATEL
John Kenney, Toyota InfoTechnology Center
Ilja Radusch, Fraunhofer FOCUS
Peter Rost, NEC Laboratories Europe
Joachim Sachs, Ericsson
Slawomir Stanczak, Fraunhofer HHI
Gerhard Wunder, Fraunhofer HHI

Workshop Registration:
For registration, please follow the instructions on the Globecom 2014 website.